Homesick

May 30, 2008

Women’s Sports

Filed under: Sports, TV — Tags: , , , — jodygambrell @ 12:30 pm

I’m not a big fan of women’s sports. That’s not really true. I’m not opposed to them at all. I guess I should say I’m not a fan of watching women’s sports on TV. I really actually enjoy watching them in person.

In college, I would often go watch the women’s soccer team play (not necessarily for the enjoyment of the competition though). I would even go with my roommate to watch his girlfriend (now wife) play on the women’s basketball team. However, I was not very happy when (because of Title IX) my friends on the men’s track team lost their scholarships and were left out in the cold in favor of a women’s synchronized swimming team.

In high school, our girls’ softball team won back-to-back state championships and I would often travel to watch them play. And when I was a Freshman in high school, I dated the star player of the girls’ basketball team.

If I have a daughter one day, I would hope and even encourage her to play sports (but not date her teammates).

Last night, I actually tried to give women’s sports (on TV) a chance to redeem itself (herself?) by watching the Women’s College World Series. Once I got past the female commentators and the umpires that looked like your typical female P.E. teacher (no offense to my wife who was a P.E. teacher’s aide this year…she broke the mold), I actually was enjoying the game. Alabama has a very good team this year and has a shot to win a National Championship. Alabama was facing Arizona State. Everything was going fine until the top half of the last inning. In the bottom of the 6th inning, Bama scored their first and only run of the game to put them up 1-0. Bama’s pitcher had been lights out all night and they were 3 outs away from winning their opening round game. Here comes the point in which I lost respect for the game.

For some strange reason that I will never understand, Bama’s coach, Pat Murphy, decides to intentionally walk the first batter of the inning. Who does that? You can guess what happened from there. Arizona State advanced the runner to second with a bunt and the runner on 2nd (the girl who was intentionally walked) scored on a double that tied the game. Bama then, of course, lost momentum, and Arizona State scored the go ahead runs on a controversial call by the Rosie O’Donnell loving umpire. Arizona State won the game 3-1 and Bama will have to try to win their way out of the loser’s bracket.

I am a huge baseball fan. I like “small ball”. Small ball is the term used for the simple aspects of the game like, getting a runner on base, advancing the runner to scoring position, etc. Apparently Pat Murphy does not understand this concept. I understand that sometimes you have no choice but to pitch around or intentionally walk a team’s slugger. But, why on earth do you intentionally put the tying run on base to start the final inning? I don’t care if Barry Bonds is coming up to bat, straight off of a steroid binge, you just don’t do that.

I’m starting to wonder why this bothers me so much. I’m sure Coach Murphy is a great softball coach or else Bama would not be in the position that they are in.

Oh well, who really cares anyway?

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

